Home / Sports / Cricket / India Women Look to Continue Dominance Over SA in 2nd T20I

India Women Look to Continue Dominance Over SA in 2nd T20I

India Women Look to Continue Dominance Over SA in 2nd T20I

Harmanpreet Kaur (Getty Images)

East London: An ideal begin achieved, the Indian ladies’s cricket crew would look to proceed its supremacy over South Africa when the 2 sides conflict in the second Twenty20 International, right here on Friday.After a 2-1 win in the ODI collection, the Indian ladies began the T20 collection on a assured observe, drubbing the hosts by seven wickets right here in the primary recreation on Monday.

And the Harmanpreet Kaur-led facet would look to stick with it the momentum in the rest of the five-match collection.

The method the Indians got here out all weapons blazing in the primary T20, it appeared the loss in the inconsequential third ODI prior to the collection was only a uncommon dangerous day in workplace and their confidence hardly took a beating.

Opting to bowl, the Indian ladies first restricted South Africa to 164 for 4 after which overhauled the goal with consummate ease in 18.5 overs.

While chasing, opener Mithali Raj (54 not out) held the Indian innings collectively and shared two essential stands — a 69-run partnership for the third wicket with debutant Jemimah Rodrigues (37) and a 52-run fourth-wicket stand with Veda Krishnamurthy (37 not out) — to steer her facet dwelling.

Mithali’s knock, her 11th T20 International half century, got here off 48 deliveries with the assistance of half a dozen fours and one six and the Indian crew administration would hope for an encore from the skilled batswoman.

The 17-year-old Mumbai participant, Rodrigues, additionally batted impressively on her debut, hitting 4 boundaries and a six throughout her breezy 27-ball knock, whereas Krishnamurthy was at her attacking finest.

Opener Smriti Mandhana made 28 however she can be hoping for a giant knock tomorrow.

Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur too can be hoping to rating large after a first-ball duck in the final match, owing to a run out.

The Indian batting seems to be in good kind however the guests’ bowling is a reason for concern in the absence of veteran pacer Jhulan Goswami, who has been dominated out of the collection due to a heel damage.

Young quick bowler Pooja Vastrakar (1/34) definitely regarded nervous on her debut and her tempo colleague Shikha Pandey’s (1/41) efficiency was a giant let-down.

In the absence of Jhulan, Pandey would wish to shoulder extra accountability upfront in the bowling division.

T20 specialist off-spinner Anuja Patil was the star for India in the final match, claiming 2 for 23 in her 4 overs to pin down South Africa’s batting line-up.

But she would positively want help from the likes of Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav and Harmanpreet.

“It’s good to have the youngsters in the squad. Usually when you have a few new members, they get a lot of positive energy into the team and they are quite active on the ground too,” Mithali had mentioned after the primary match.

For South Africa, the important thing can be not to get slowed down by the setback and construct on the positives.

Chloe Tryon’s ballistic 32 not out from seven balls, together with two fours and 4 sixes, was a giant takeaway from the final match and skipper Dane van Niekerk is hoping that the crew builds on it.

“We need to regroup, we need to speak open and honestly with each other and see where we can change stuff. Our fielding wasn’t at its best and we pride ourselves on our fielding,” Niekerk has mentioned.

“T20 is so short and the margins are so much smaller, so hopefully we can bounce back in the next few. I’d like to win the next four and go away from this tour smiling.”

Teams (from):
India: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia, Nuzhat Parveen Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav.

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (captain), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels.

Match begins: four:30 PM (IST).

First Published: February 15, 2018, 1:17 PM IST

About Zeeshan Iqbal Soomro

Check Also

Duminy Wages Lone Battle for SA

JP Duminy (AFP Image) Catch all of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *