Home / Sports / Cricket / Rohit Sharma and Boys Look to Avenge Opening Game Defeat

Rohit Sharma and Boys Look to Avenge Opening Game Defeat

Rohit Sharma and Boys Look to Avenge Opening Game Defeat

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma (AFP)

Colombo: Skipper Rohit Sharma can be determined to get again to type as a resurgent India look to set their report straight in opposition to hosts Sri Lanka within the third match of the Nidahas Tri-Series on Monday.The stand-in skipper, presumably essentially the most prolific white ball participant after common chief Virat Kohli, has gone off the boil for the reason that begin of the South Africa collection.

He will like to rating closely to get his confidence again as he frets on whether or not he may give Rishabh Pant one other recreation within the event. Touted as Dhoni’s successor, Pant is but to do justice to his immense potential until now. With somebody like KL Rahul ready for his probability, time is operating out for the burly teenager from Rourkee.

Rahul’s presence offers his skipper an possibility to use him as an opener and himself come at No four, dropping Pant from the XI. It was not an ideal begin for India’s second string squad within the event as they misplaced by 5 wickets in opposition to the hosts within the opening match.

But the Rohit-led facet bounced again strongly to beat Bangladesh by six wickets of their subsequent match. So the match would offer India with an opportunity to make amends for the errors they dedicated in opposition to the Islanders within the opener.

The event is presently evenly poised as all of the three groups have gained a recreation every from two outings however Sri Lanka are main the desk on internet run charge forward of India and Bangladesh. But a win would take India to the highest, dislodging the Lankans.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan is in imperious type with two back-to-back half-centuries within the event to date. After his 49-ball 90 within the opener in opposition to Sri Lanka, Dhawan made 55 off 43 deliveries to assist India chase down Bangladesh’s below-par 140 complete with consummate ease within the final recreation.

After an detached Test collection in opposition to the Proteas, Dhawan discovered his mojo again at the beginning of the restricted overs leg in South Africa which will be ascertained from his sequence of scores within the final 5 T20Is — 55, 90, 47, 24, 72.

But Rohit’s type stays a explanation for concern for India as he made 17, zero, 11, zero and 21 within the final 5 T20 matches. Among different Indian batsmen, Manish Pandey (37, 27) seemed in good nick and together with comeback man Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik type the core of the group’s middle-order.

On the bowling entrance, Jaydev Unaadkat wants to be extra constant. The left-arm pacer has picked up 4 wickets in two matches to date however leaked runs which isn’t anticipated whereas spearheading the assault.

The younger and inexperienced Indian bowlers have carried out an honest job to date with the likes of Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Vijay Shankar residing upto their expectations.

Sri Lanka, however, could be smarting from the surprising five-wicket loss to Bangladesh final night time.

Bangladesh pulled off a memorable report chase to stun the Lankans final night time, ending their current run of reverses in opposition to the islanders owing to Mushfiqur Rahim’s belligerent 35-ball 72.

Chasing a mammoth 215 within the stipulated 20 overs, Bangladesh crossed the road in 19.four overs for the lack of 5 wickets, which was the fourth highest run chase in T20 Internationals and Bangladesh’s finest.

The Lankan bowlers had been taken to cleaners by Bangladesh batsmen and the hosts could be hoping for an improved present. On the batting from, the 2 Kusals — Kusal Mendis and Kusal Perera are in high-quality type for Sri Lanka. Indian bowlers could be cautious about Perera, specifically, who has scored 66 and 74 within the two matches, whereas Mendis made 57 in opposition to Bangladesh yesterday.

Teams (from): India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wk).
Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Suranga Lakmal (vc), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhananjaya De Silva.

First Published: March 12, 2018, eight:10 AM IST

About Zeeshan Iqbal Soomro

Check Also

West Indies to Tour India in October; Eden Gardens to Host One-off T20I

Image Credit: Getty Images. New Delhi: India …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *