Home / Sports / Cricket / Vijay Hazare Trophy: Saurashtra, Hyderabad Enter Quarter-finals

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Saurashtra, Hyderabad Enter Quarter-finals

PTI | Updated: February 14, 2018, 7:19 PM IST

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Saurashtra, Hyderabad Enter Quarter-finals

Saurashtra cricket staff. (Image Credits: Pujara/ Twitter)

Hyderabad: Saurashtra trounced Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha by eight wickets for a hat-trick of wins, serving to them seal a quarterfinal berth within the Vijay Hazare Trophy right here on Wednesday.Hosts Hyderbad rode on pacer Mohammed Siraj’s 5/37 to hammer Chhattisgarh by 84 runs and be part of Saurashtra within the final eight as Group D toppers.

Saurashtra edged out Vidarbha on a greater internet run-rate for the second spot because it was heartbreak for the reigning Ranji champions who had been main the group with 4 successive wins earlier than back-to-back defeats knocked them out of the competitors.

In a should win match, Vidrabha batsmen struggled to get a partnership going earlier than being bundled out for 159 in 40.5 overs after Saurashtra captain Cheteshwar Pujara opted to subject on the AOC Centre Thapar Stadium in Secunderabad.

Jaydev Unadkat (2/18) and Shaurya Sanandia (2/33) gave the early breakthroughs earlier than Kamlesh Makvana (2/9) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (2/32) wrapped up the difficulty.

Wicket-keeper batsman Avi Barot steered the chase with an unbeaten 91 off 114 balls (13×4, 2×6) whereas skipper Pujara remained not out on 46 off 74 balls (5×4) to seal the chase with 170 balls to spare, which was sufficient to go previous Vidarbha on NRR.

Saurashtra’s quarterfinal hopes had obtained a setback after two losses in a row together with a shock defeat to Jammu and Kashmir. But they’ve turned it round in model with three complete wins over Jharkhand, Services and Vidarbha.

At the Gymkhana Ground in Secunderabad, Hyderabad overcame a jittery begin to submit a difficult 280/eight with Bavanaka Sandeep as their prime scorer on 79 whereas skipper Ambati Rayudu (46) and T Ravi Teja (45) additionally chipped in with useful contributions.

In reply, Chhattisgarh had been bundled out for 196 in 44.three overs with Siraj returning along with his second List A five-wicket haul, whereas left-arm spinner Mehdi Hasan claimed 2/28.

Brief Scores:

At AOC Centre Thapar Stadium, Secunderabad: Vidarbha 159; 40.5 overs (Jitesh Sharma 55; Kamlesh Makvana 2/9, Jaydev Unadkat 2/18, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 2/32, Shaurya Sanandia 2/33) misplaced to Saurashtra 161/2; 34 overs (Avi Barot 91 not out, Cheteshwar Pujara 46 not out) by eight wickets.

At Gymkhana Ground, Secunderabad: Hyderabad 280/eight; 50 overs (BP Sandeep 79, Ambati Rayudu 46, T Ravi Teja 45; Pankaj Rao three/52) beat Chhattisgarh 196; 44.three overs (Amandeep Khare 71, Sanjeet Desai 47; Mohammed Siraj 5/37) by 84 runs.

At Rajiv Gandhi Stadium: Jharkhand 296/9; 50 overs (Virat Singh 96; Parvez Rasool three/46, Umar Nazir three/71) beat Jammu & Kashmir 199; 46 overs (S Pundir 74; Ashish Kumar three/23, Vikash Singh three/37) by 97 runs.

First Published: February 14, 2018, 7:17 PM IST

About Zeeshan Iqbal Soomro

Check Also

Duminy Wages Lone Battle for SA

JP Duminy (AFP Image) Catch all of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *